Mindanao power coops urged to invest in R&D

Mindanao electric cooperatives (ECs) gathered Tuesday (November 14) for a two-day refresher course on the Wholesale Electricity Spot Market (WESM) held at the Limketkai Luxe Hotel in Cagayan de Oro City.

Gracing the activity was National Electrification Administration (NEA) chief Edgardo Masongsong, who urged the ECs to invest in research and development to remain competitive and to better address the challenges facing the power industry.

He also recognized the need for the NEA to establish its own research and development unit.

“I am advocating the establishment of a research and development unit in NEA. We need a pool of experts who can generate, consolidate and analyze data on the power industry,” the NEA chief added. Read more

Marawi Power Restoration Rapid Deployment task force launched

The National Electrification Administration (NEA) has joined hands with various electric cooperatives and allied organizations in providing all the necessary assistance to ensure the speedy rehabilitation of the damaged distribution lines and power restoration in areas affected by the five month-long battle between the government troops and the ISIS-linked Maute terrorist group in Marawi City.

Administrator Edgardo Masongsong on Monday (November 13) led the launching ceremony of the Marawi Power Restoration Rapid Deployment (PRRD) Task Force at the Lower Capitol Complex, with Housing Assistant Secretary Felix Castro Jr., field manager of Task Force Bangon Marawi. Read more

DOE, DPWH, NEA and Electric Cooperatives Finally Pushed Through with Round Table Discussion/TWG

On February 21, 2017, representatives from the DOE, DPWH, NEA, Electric Cooperatives and Representative Carlos Roman Uybarreta finally met at the DOE to discuss the joint DOE-DPWH Circular on relocation compensation of electric cooperatives’ facilities. Present in the said meeting were Undersecretary Petronilo Ilagan of DOE, Undersecretary Karen Jimeno of DPWH, Division Manager Federico Villar of NEA’s Technical Operations Division, PHILRECA President Jose Raul Saniel, PHILRECA GM Wendell Ballesteros, QUEZELCO II GM Victor Cada and ISECO GM Egdon Sabio.
Some issues that had been tackled during the discussion are the following: Read more